Twitter for professional learning: disseminating the findings

Last week I presented my EdD research at the Next Generation: Digital Learning Research Symposium 2016 at Dublin City University.

This was the first time I put voice to my research since the Viva. Those at the symposium were mainly other doctoral researchers and scholars in digital learning, which proved a worthwhile audience, many conversations followed about the challenges of participating in online open spaces. Very exciting. I feel my research expresses much of what people feel when it comes to using Twitter professionally. They perceive professional benefits of using Twitter but they also feel a little daunted in using it and revealing themselves online.

In short, my research tells stories (using case studies) of professionals using Twitter for professional learning. Participating on Twitter is not that straightforward. This research shows that while claims are made about the usefulness of Twitter for professional reasons including learning, my participants highlighted their concern about exposing themselves in the online space, choosing to lurk at the peripheries rather involve themselves explicitly in online participation.

Here are the symposium slides which provide a brief synopsis of the research and implications of findings:

Also last week The Irish Journal of Technology Enhanced Learning published a paper of my initial research findings. 

Then later last week my thesis went live online on UCL discovery, more in-depth findings and implications can be read in the thesis.

Next week I will visit London to present at the ‘Critical Perspectives on ‘Openness in Higher Education’ event at the SRHE in conjunction with Catherine Cronin and Rob Farrow. I’m looking forward to more discussions about participation and implications for openness, furthering my thinking and research in this area.

The last few weeks have been really busy post-Viva. The ‘Dr’ title doesn’t feel real at all, but I’m enjoying the conversations about the research findings. Until now they only inhabited the space between my mind and my laptop, now they are out in the world! A big thank you to other scholars who have read my work so far and long may these interesting conversations continue.

About Muireann O'Keeffe

I am an educational developer currently working at DCU. I have a passion for researching and evaluating technology that can support and enhance learning. In the past I have taught on Masters programmes (Msc Applied elearning & Postgraduate Diploma in Third level Learning and Teaching) as well as Leadership development programmes.
This entry was posted in EdD, education, elearning, identity, learning, participation, professional learning, social media, twitter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

