How I create podcasts for student feedback

Some of my students have been asking how I feedback podcasts

So here goes: No theory about feedback cited here, just the practical stuff that I think of and apply when creating podcast feedback for students

Firstly I read the assessment piece and compare it to the assessment rubric criteria

I make brief notes (aka messy scribbles) about what I liked about the piece and what I think could be improved into the future

Then I use QuickTime player on my MacBook Air to record ‘audio’

I record once only and try to make the audio file max 3 minutes long

I do not edit out my uhms and ahs, I think that it adds authenticity and shows I am a real-thinking-human-being!

I save the audio file and then upload it to Google drive from where I share it privately with the student

Here is a short screencast to show how I record the audio in QuickTime player and upload to Google drive.

I found these brief notes on composing feedback useful (Staff 2016)

  • Be kind – celebrate what is great about the assignment.
  • What is my favourite part – be specific.
  • Be helpful and specific when providing feedback.
  • What could make this assignment even better?
  • What would you like added or taken out to make the piece even stronger?

What the research says:

For literature in this area I suggest reading Hattie & Timperley (2007). They assert that feedback needs to answer 3 questions

  1. What do I have to do? – clarifies goals for student
  2. How am I doing? – helps close the gap between current and desired performance
  3. What can I do next?

This video from John Hattie on ‘Learning Intentions & Success Criteria’ discusses helping students achieve success through feedback and transparent assessment processes.

An Irish research project on enhancing feedback practice with 1st year students has just published a synthesis of literature http://y1feedback.ie/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/SynthesisoftheLiterature2016.pdf

References

Hattie, J., Timperley, H. ( 2007) The Power of Feedback. Review of Educational Research Vol. 77, No. 1, pp. 81–112

Staff, c. (2016) Assessment Webinar. Retrieved on March 31st from https://prezi.com/_sfxahw-grjx/assessment-webinar/

About Muireann O'Keeffe

I am an educational developer currently working at DCU. I have a passion for researching and evaluating technology that can support and enhance learning. In the past I have taught on Masters programmes (Msc Applied elearning & Postgraduate Diploma in Third level Learning and Teaching) as well as Leadership development programmes.
This entry was posted in assessment, design, education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

