#Day100  – Celebration, my voice, and  becoming a reflective practitioner 

Day 100 of Writing – I decided to celebrate with a video. Today a light bulb was switched on, I love days like this helps me love my job, love my research and lets me fall in love with learning all over again 🙂

In short I have just realised that my perspective of reflective thinking, writing and practice have changed since my Masters. Eureka.   I have developed a ‘voice’ (somewhat!) so video seemed the most suitable way to demonstrate this.

This video is 11mins in length, so it’s kinda long, but if you can endure my reflection on my own learning, please listen in.

Ciao for now

 


Reference: Smith, E. (2011) Teaching critical reflection. Teaching in higher education.211-223, Vol 16, 2

About Muireann O'Keeffe

I am an educational developer currently working at DCU. I have a passion for researching and evaluating technology that can support and enhance learning. In the past I have taught on Masters programmes (Msc Applied elearning & Postgraduate Diploma in Third level Learning and Teaching) as well as Leadership development programmes.
This entry was posted in #100DaysOfWriting, ascilite, EdD and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #Day100  – Celebration, my voice, and  becoming a reflective practitioner 

  1. Pip Ferguson says:

    I really enjoyed this video Muireann. I think you could well incorporate it into your thesis (if the inclusion of digital media is a possibility) and also into your own teaching portfolio. It comes across as honest and committed to growth and sharing, both of which I have experienced from you as a colleague. I well remember my own PhD Chief Supervisor telling me at one stage, “You haven’t found your voice yet.” I asked her how I would know when I had, and she replied, rather infuriatingly, “You’ll know when you get there!” Gah….but it sounds as though you HAVE found your voice and you know that you’ve found it. I think you are right – this is an important milestone, and hopefully the completion of your thesis is not too far off now! All the best. Pip

    • Hi Pip, thanks for your encouraging comments, Yes I think I am on the way there with my voice, knowing where I sit, what I want to say…. at least now I can talk about it, but it’s different writing with voice, and I will need lots of (writing) practice, Draft #1 was definitely a milestone along the path, and next draft will be another milestone 🙂

  2. clarego says:

    Thanks for sharing this, Muireann. Your excitement at reaching this eureka moment shines through and your obvious enthusiasm for the subject is infectious! Well done. I would be of the view that if you were thinking of using this as a teaching tool, and I think you certainly could, I would suggest editing it back so that your core point comes to the fore faster. Perhaps about 4 minutes in when you start to explain how you no longer depend exclusively on predefined techniques to help students get to a reflective place – that might be an alternative starting point.

    And just on that same note, I would also believe that the use of models and techniques for helping students to engage in reflective practice do still have their place (especially for novice reflective practitioners), but perhaps are not quite enough for moving towards contextual and critical reflective thinking, as you describe. I look forward to hearing much more about that from you in the coming months, especially your thinking on helping others find that sometimes elusive voice.

    • thanks Clare – yes in search of the elusive voice, it’s a journey!

      thanks for your suggestion about using parts of this video as a teaching resource… I will keep that in mind and maybe edit it down to suit needs when they arise 🙂

Leave a Reply

