#Day 19 – Resisting EdD boredom by developing ideas

I have been writing off-line for a week and things have taken off with some aspects of my thesis. A common question for anyone doing an Educational Doctorate is about implications for professional practice, how will my research influence future work in my professional area?

I am at the end stages of my writing (all be a few major tweaks to make!) and according to the ThesisWhisperer at this stage it is common for PhD or EdD students to feel a sense of boredom with their topic! So as a preventative measure I have forged ahead with my idea of helping academics use the digital tools more effectively and I have designed a course to educators more connected.

So drumroll please….. for a new course that I will be offering to staff at DCU  from  October 2015 to help develop digital academic profiles around teaching and learning practices.

This is very exciting, I will be taking learning from my EdD research and implementing it in practice. This course will suitable for those who teach and support teaching in higher education. It will be useful for early career academics; academics interested in showcasing teaching and learning practice for future promotion; staff who support teaching and learning (student support, library staff, technical staff, educational developers); and those who want to enhance or establish a digital presence towards learning and teaching practices.

So if you are interested, get in touch

Read more about it: https://magic.piktochart.com/output/7559432-untitled-infographic

About Muireann O'Keeffe

I am an educational developer currently working at DCU. I have a passion for researching and evaluating technology that can support and enhance learning. In the past I have taught on Masters programmes (Msc Applied elearning & Postgraduate Diploma in Third level Learning and Teaching) as well as Leadership development programmes.
This entry was posted in #100DaysOfWriting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #Day 19 – Resisting EdD boredom by developing ideas

  1. note for myself- I want to investigate knowing, acting, being schema from Barnett & Coate (2005). this might be a schema to scaffold educators in higher education knowing about the digital world, acting in suitable ways and being part of the digital world in more expert ways ….ultimately so that teaching and learning practices are discussed, shared and new knowledge about practice is formed

Leave a Reply

