Day7 #100DaysOfWriting – Thesis and work ideas ideas collide

This morning I  enjoyed reading an article from Guerin et al titled ‘Blogging as community of practice: lessons for academic development?‘. The article encourages  academic developers to engage in using social networking tools such as blogs to collaborate with others to disseminate and build on professional knowledge. The authors refer to the opportunities for informal learning offered through their blog Doctoral Writing SIG and advocate that social networking can “create public and global versions of the informal learning of staffroom and corridor exchanges“. This paper resonates with some findings I have made in my Twitter exploration.

This article is also spurring me on in my thinking about the course I want to develop and run at DCU  ‘Developing your professional ePortfolio’, giving academics and those supporting teaching and learning an opportunity to document their practices through digital media. Seems everything is coming together, although I do have lot more work to do thesis-wise…

About Muireann O'Keeffe

I am an educational developer currently working at DCU. I have a passion for researching and evaluating technology that can support and enhance learning. In the past I have taught on Masters programmes (Msc Applied elearning & Postgraduate Diploma in Third level Learning and Teaching) as well as Leadership development programmes.
This entry was posted in #100DaysOfWriting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

