#The100DayProject – Launching 100 days of writing

Spurred on the ever-closer deadline of my doctorate I have been leading shut-up and write sessions at DCU for postgraduate students and within my department (NIDL). Shut-up and write has been great, I love the organized and social aspect of writing, we can share experiences on writing while also using the discipline of 25 minute writing sessions for strictly-no-talking-writing time. Shut-up and write has been really productive and very enjoyable.

So my next mission comes from the idea from 100 days project since my creative efforts are all towards writing at the moment I am launching 100 days of writing from this day onwards!

From today I am going to be posting some blogs, the odd video clip about my work as an academic developer, about my thesis topic, conferences I attend, stuff that interests me. My the aim of writing every day for 100 Days is just to ‘Show Up’ and write (despite my mood, any feelings of inadequacy or vulnerability that I have about exposing my writing online! )

“To know what you’re going to draw, you have to begin drawing”

I’m hoping that by writing my ideas my thoughts will get clearer.

The aim is to fall in love just a little bit, every day, writing something new.

 

 

 

About Muireann O'Keeffe

I am an educational developer currently working at DCU. I have a passion for researching and evaluating technology that can support and enhance learning. In the past I have taught on Masters programmes (Msc Applied elearning & Postgraduate Diploma in Third level Learning and Teaching) as well as Leadership development programmes.
This entry was posted in #100DaysOfWriting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #The100DayProject – Launching 100 days of writing

  1. Tom Farrelly says:

    Hi Muireann
    a sort of extended Pomodoro? How long are you suggesting every day?

    • Hi Tom,
      Writing time is up to yourself really, I have the aim of writing/tweaking my thesis, and also of creating short blog posts for the 100 days 🙂
      My advice would be to firstly establish an aim for your writing – do you need to write a paper, or a conference presentation or even update a website or blog…and write towards that aim. The Pomodoro (25 minute writing) technique can be used to get you started or even to use over the whole 100 days.
      Join me, the more the merrier 🙂

      Muireann

  2. docpipnz says:

    Reblogged this on fernandshamrock and commented:
    My colleague Muireann O’Keefe on an idea to keep those creative juices flowing!

  3. docpipnz says:

    All the best with this Muireann! My preference is more for ‘dive in and swim like mad when the time allows’ rather than consistent every day writing. But I can see the sense in that when you have a lengthy project such as a PhD thesis to complete. All the best with this new initiative.
    Cheers
    Pip

Leave a Reply

