Exams in DCU

Sometimes when I study I like to work from home but other days I really like the hum of activity of others around me. I live just around the corner from DCU and I’m using their library occasionally for reading and studying. It’s a great facility, access to educational resources and guest Wi-Fi J (I have access via my SCONUL card), and the coffee shop downstairs is really handy for breaks (although I’m on the green tea for my January detox at the moment ).
So at the moment DCU library is ideal for me, being surrounded by students preparing for exams. I’m also very curious and have eavesdropped on the occasional student chat! Today’s conversations were all about the exam, one student said to another “I’m going to learn those last three things………what are you doing for that question”.

Personally I would hate to sit an exam again, the pressure of ‘learning’ for the exam, off by heart, I think I have lost the skills of rote learning. When I did my MSc the assessments were continuous, an approach I loved, as students we were able to work together in groups, hear about other ideas for assignments, get feedback from tutors before submitting. It was hard and continuous work, but a lot less pressure than trying to cognitively photograph and reproduce the content for exams.

The students I was listening to probably had other types of assessment built into their curriculum, but my sympathy and best wishes is with them for their exams.

About Muireann O'Keeffe

I am an educational developer currently working at DCU. I have a passion for researching and evaluating technology that can support and enhance learning. In the past I have taught on Masters programmes (Msc Applied elearning & Postgraduate Diploma in Third level Learning and Teaching) as well as Leadership development programmes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

