Back from Holidays

Back from a few weeks of annual leave, it has taken me 4 days to get into the work routine, I only feel efficient today! During my time-off I completely switched off from work, I am only getting back to reading blogs, trying to update myself with technology trends and engage with Twitter again. A break is good, and very refreshing from the constant cascade of information.
I also caught up on lighter reading: The Secret Scripture and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo., The Spirit Level (not so light, but an interesting read!)
Now I have returned to reading ‘The Courage to Teach’ by Parker Palmer. I really like this book, to me it is interesting because it is a genuine portrayal of the fears that any teacher new or established may have with teaching. I am half-way through the book and finding connection with much of what he describes. This is bringing relief to my feelings about teaching and positivity about what teaching is also. I do enjoy teaching/facilitating learning, but I find it a real challenge in many ways: trying to keep up to date with material, remembering information, trying best to develop a positive dynamic among and with students, recognising that each student learns differently, trying different strategies that will work best for the learning situation.
Parker’s message is also that integrity ought to be at the heart of all teachers. A tweet from @dajbelshaw this week resonated with this:

“Your reputation is more important than your paycheck, and your integrity is worth more than your career.” #awesome http://dajb.eu/bJUe0G”.

This strikes a chord with me too, I believe in trying to best that I can be, to support the best learning experience possible. To consistently reflect and analyse experiences and make improvement for the future practice.

About Muireann O'Keeffe

I am an educational developer currently working at DCU. I have a passion for researching and evaluating technology that can support and enhance learning. In the past I have taught on Masters programmes (Msc Applied elearning & Postgraduate Diploma in Third level Learning and Teaching) as well as Leadership development programmes.
This entry was posted in reflection, teaching, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

