Distractions

This morning I am (well supposed to be) reading Lankshear and Knobel’s book on New Literacies……. it is opened on page 9, and I have just read about Freire ‘reading the word and the world’ ….but then I got distracted my some emails and Twitter……………and now within the space of 1 hour and a few clicks I have been reading about recommended iPhone apps from @Jamesclay blog.
I must try out Audioboo for creating podcasts. @jamesclay just tweeted @ me and to say that Audioboo can be accessed on a desktop also. Next year  I want to try delivering feedback via podcast to students.

Reading about apps for the iPhone reminds me that I need to do investigation into developing learning resources for mobile phones or Smartphone’s. This is something we want to develop and incorporate on the MSc Applied eLearning (instructional design and eAuthoring module) next year. Robbie Hickey on the MSc has done great work in creating video learning resources for mobiles for his apprenticeship students. Also the resources this year created by the students of the MSc were accessible on Smartphone’s…..but next year we need to be more focussed on incorporating an mlearning strand into the module.

About Muireann O'Keeffe

I am an educational developer currently working at DCU. I have a passion for researching and evaluating technology that can support and enhance learning. In the past I have taught on Masters programmes (Msc Applied elearning & Postgraduate Diploma in Third level Learning and Teaching) as well as Leadership development programmes.
This entry was posted in iPhone, MSc, Smartphone and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

