Getting into writing practice

Following the blogging examples of Doug Belshaw and the need to improve my practice of writing I am going write briefly for 10 minutes every day (at least twice a week!)  thanks Kevin for suggesting this!)

I think I will mainly write about what I have discovered and enjoyed learning.

My weeks generally follow the same trend of work load (although they are varied also) Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday I rarely  get the chance to sit at my desk and follow up on things due to teaching and workshops.  But usually at the end of the week I can get an afternoon to catch up on emails, prepare for future teaching and workshops etc.  (I wonder if there is a stats/graph tool for Google calendar that can show my peaks and troughs in my workload etc. )

Anyway I want to write more regularly so I can improve the quality of my writing, here goes…..

Things I have learned this week:  even though I try my hardest it is impossible to please people in all situations. I think the key (for my own sanity) is to do my best, and if there is criticism (even of that best) to keep trying and take on board the criticism in a measured way and find ways of improving , this about becoming a reflective practitioner.

I really enjoyed the session on ‘writing for peer-reviewed journals’ today facilitated by Kevin O’Rourke of the LTTC . I need professional development in the area (urgently) as we encourage students of the MSC Applied elearning to write for peer reviewed journals.
I have 2 positive outcomes from the workshop:  I have registered with http://www.informaworld.com and will get updates on latest journals articles relevant to my area of work and research.
Secondly, this blog will hopefully improve my habit and practice of writing.

Technical discoveries this week:

Google docs can generate web forms, great no need for PHP or CGI scripting!Also learned more about using turning point clickers, specifically how to import CSV student info into the turning pint software.
I found out what Foursquare is (thanks MSc students), I might register, but I don’t know If I want another social networking tool just yet!.

One of the MSc elearning students is using text-to-speech software to convert course readings to podcasts so he can listen and learn while driving!

Also I learned more about how the power of twitter #getmehome helped people organise their journeys home, while the Eyjafjallajokull volcano ash disrupted flights all over Europe

Anyway this 10 minutes has turned into 30 mins of writing….so till tomorrow

About Muireann O'Keeffe

I am an educational developer currently working at DCU. I have a passion for researching and evaluating technology that can support and enhance learning. In the past I have taught on Masters programmes (Msc Applied elearning & Postgraduate Diploma in Third level Learning and Teaching) as well as Leadership development programmes.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

